Wazza Said So!

The United Fanatics' blog

Dimitar Ivanov Berbatov – A “Class Act”

Posted by unitedfanatic on October 2, 2009

berbatov“Manchester United have completed the signing Dimitar Berbatov from Tottenham Hotspur, despite the London club having earlier accepted a shock bid from Manchester City. United striker Fraizer Campbell has moved in the opposite direction on a season-long loan.” – The Guardian on 2nd September, 2008

“Dimitar Berbatov completed his £30.75million move to Manchester United last night – moments before the midnight transfer deadline. Berbatov got his dream switch to United on a dramatic day which saw their local rivals Manchester City involved in a £200million takeover then launch an audacious bid to hijack their bid for Berbatov.” – The Mirror on September 2nd, 2008.

“Manchester United have completed the signing of Dimitar Berbatov for £30.75 million, with Fraizer Campbell going the other way on a season-long loan. The Bulgarian has been a long-term target of the double-winners, who had an approach rebuffed last season. They reignited their interest this summer, as they looked to complete their striking options up front.” – Goal.com on September 1st, 2008

Filled in with this news 13 months back, it was hard to contain my joy at adding such a rare talent to the double title winning squad already rich with the striking options of Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney and Carlos Tevez. But Berbatov was different. If there was one word that comprehensively described him, it was “CLASS”. When he sent the ball to Tevez to hammer home against Liverpool at Anfield on his debut, it was a confirmation of what was in store for us. As he has demonstrated over the course of his debut year with us, he is master of tender touches, sleek passes and articulate handling. Yet there has been widespread criticism in the press, forums, websites about his lack of goals which based their criticism on one fundamental argument. Though there were, and to an extent still are, complaints of his laziness, they have considerably subsided in favour of this one – He is a forward and so he is supposed to score goals.

So this brings us to the debate of whether or not the money we spent on him is money well spent.

Yes it is.

But he doesn’t score too many goals.

So what? He is only 1 season old at Manchester United.

We were much better off with Carlitos up front with Rooney.

Maybe, but we would have fallen apart after the departure of Cristiano Ronaldo.

That is not reason enough to sideline Tevez.

Tevez did what tevez wanted to do even after playing 51 games in a season for us and still not being happy.

Sir Alex Ferguson, the mastermind behind us winning 11 premier league titles, 5 FA cups, 3 League Cups, 2 European cups, 1 UEFA Cup Winner’s cup, 1 UEFA Super cup, 1 Intercontinental cup and 1 Club World cup since arriving in November 1986, had done his math before signing Berbatov and he wasn’t going to be wrong. So started his efforts to weave Berbatov into the golden fabric of our squad, and he was rightfully given enough starts to settle himself as well as prove his talent. With 10 assists in the Premier League to his name in his debut season, 1 behind the highest, he wasn’t exactly a flop now. This season after the departure of Tevez, and the arrival of Michael Owen, the responsibility on his shoulders has increased and he is poised to deliver better than his debut season at Manchester United with a £30.75m price tag on his head.

Dimitar BerbatovUnited defeated Wolfsburg 2-1 on wednesday and the gaffer will be more than happy with the performance of Berbatov. On after Owen felt a groin problem after 20 minutes of the game, he almost outdid Rooney in re energising the team in their attacks and providing great balls to Rooney, Giggs and Valencia. However, in an interview after the game, he has admitted his disappointment on not having done better.

In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that.
“It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters.
“You must remember, they are used to Best, Charlton, Cantona. I am just Dimitar.
“I got a number of assists, but I must score more goals.
“I don’t know what I am doing wrong sometimes. Maybe it’s luck, maybe it’s me… who knows?
“At nights I have stayed awake thinking, ‘You could have done this instead’.”

“In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that. It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters.

“You must remember, they are used to Best, Charlton, Cantona. I am just Dimitar.

“I got a number of assists, but I must score more goals. I don’t know what I am doing wrong sometimes. Maybe it’s luck, maybe it’s me… who knows? At nights I have stayed awake thinking, ‘You could have done this instead’.”

Yes, he needs to score more goals to win over the reluctant section of fans but he can do without the pressurizing by the media. Of course, this is something he has to get used to at Manchester United, as his team mates will tell him from their time here and I think he can successfully do that with Sir Alex Ferguson’s shield of faith to protect him.

“I am more pleased with my overall game in this second season already,” he told The Sun. “I feel that I have integrated myself better into the team. I am much stronger, much fitter. But I still wish I could score more.”

Also, he rightfully defended his languid style on the pitch for which Fergie signed him and pointed out his willingness to wipe away the lazy tag. “This is my style of play. I don’t run for no reason. I am always alert and ready.

“I looked at our ProZone stats last season and saw that I was ninth in distance covered. I am kind of a nerd. I looked at them too much, maybe. By the end of the season I was fourth. Maybe this season I will be first!”

Apart from his performances, what matters is his happiness and commitment for the club.

“I am playing with legends like Scholes, Giggs and Rooney. Being coached by a man like Sir Alex Ferguson. How can I not be happy?”

2 Responses to “Dimitar Ivanov Berbatov – A “Class Act””

  1. […] Read the original post: Dimitar Ivanov Berbatov – A “Class Act” […]

  2. Dimitar Berbatov is the greatest soccer player in the Premier League!

Leave a Reply

 
