Wazza Said So!

The United Fanatics' blog

Corry Evans: Hope to make it big one day

Posted by unitedfanatic on December 2, 2009

One for the future?

On the bench in the win against barnsley in the last League Cup outing, Corry Evans – younger brother of Johnny Evans, opens his heart about his past, present and future, ahead of another League Cup outing as United host Tottenham.

Born in Northern Ireland, him and Johnny Evans both played for Greenisland FC and were invited for trials at Manchester United by scouts. But the FA rules limited clubs to players who lived within an hour and a half of the club, so they moved to Manchester with their family, to increase their chances with United.

“I’d just finished my first year in high school at the time when we moved.

It was hard when we first moved. Having to move across to a different school and a new school was my biggest concern.

I didn’t know anyone and I thought I’d be the only Northern Irish one in a school full of English people, so that was my main worry. In the football side of things the week my family moved over I was going on trial at Manchester United to a training camp.

What they do is bring young players from all over the UK to come and train for a couple of weeks to have a look at them.

Luckily enough my family moved over and I did well in the trial and they asked me to come back for another one.

I impressed again and they asked me to sign academy forms when I was under-14 which took me to under-16. I got offered a scholarship and then went on to sign pro. I wouldn’t have been able to sign anything at all, at United or for any other club, if I’d still been in Northern Ireland. That’s the rules. I’d have had to wait until I was 16.”

He acknowledges his father’s faith in him having a good influence on him, and his chances with United.

“My dad had confidence in my ability, but he said that either way it was going to be good for my football and that I would improve because I would get better coaching and that would happen at any academy,” said Corry. “I would be playing more times a week and at a better standard. He tried to reassure me and looking back it has helped me a lot being at United from such an early age instead of only moving at 16.”

With Johnny Evans making appearances in abundance of 30 for United last season, Corry has been captaining the reserves side, as well as being on the travelling squad with the first team.

“Things aren’t going too bad at United. I’ve been involved in a couple of squads and was on the bench against Barnsley in the Carling Cup, so I’m doing quite well and going in the right direction,” he explained.

“I was in Moscow for the Champions League match as well. We’d a 21 man squad, so there was three of us left in the stand, but it was a great experience, my first taste of European football and training on the pitch the night before and being in the first-team changing room was all good for me.”

Asked about the uncanny resemblance to the pair of Gary and Phil Neville, the defender adds

“There’s not a lot of talk about Johnny and myself coming through to play together at the club. There are a few brothers at United, Wes Brown and his younger brother Rhys, Rafael and Fabio Da Silva and a couple at the younger age group, so there’s a few siblings at the club.

Hopeful for his chances, he relies on Sir Alex Ferguson, and the system in place at United for bringing out the best in youngsters.

With a manager like Sir Alex Ferguson and a club like Manchester United you know that down the years they have always given young players a chance.

That’s what they try to focus on, the main nucleus of the team being home grown and coming through the academy. That’s what I hope will happen for me.”

What are the odds of our future back four being owned by the Da Silva and Evans brothers?

Leave a Reply

 
